Karma Kitchen DC

A taste of generosity!

May 24th Karma Kitchen

Posted by karmakitchendc on June 2, 2009

KKgroup

Some special moments from a Memorial Day Karma Kitchen where we served  almost 70 guests!

  • One volunteer brought hibiscus flowers from Egypt and we introduced a new drink. The hibiscus lemonade we made with it was a hit. The UCDC students requested that we make it again next week because its their favorite drink and next week is their last week in DC and eating at Karma Kitchen.
  • A past volunteer who brought friends with her and they all left meaningful items for the Kindness Tag box
  • Being able to serve a regular Karma Kitchen volunteer and his parents
  • Huge groups of UCDC kids who came throughout the afternoon and filled the restaurant with their high spirits
  • A few groups of people who had never heard of Karma Kitchen but were “oriented” by their servers and left with a positive feeling!

Guest Comments:

  • Karma Kitchen is the only way I like to spend my Sunday afternoons. The friends I have met here are some of my closest in DC. This is the first place I bring visitors when I come to the city.
  • Thank you for holding this great service for the community that will definitely help those who receive the generous fruits from paying it forward.
  • Thank you so much for such a wonderful meal. I have never felt so much at home. Love your concept. I will devote my life helping my community.
  • First off, your food was so flavorful! Anyways, I just wanted to say that I am going to most definitely pay it forward and you guys inspire me! Keep up the good work! P.S. hibiscus lemonade = heaven
Leave a Reply

 
