Karma Kitchen DC

A taste of generosity!

Recap: Karma Kitchen Mar 01

Posted by karmakitchendc on March 3, 2009

With flakes of snow and wintry mix in the forecast, the morning started out cold. But it turned out to be a beautiful Sunday for Karma Kitchen DC.Β  The day started as enthusiastic volunteers got ready to serve and the first guest walked in perfectly on time. As the day progressed more people came in, and about 50 guests were served.

As the volunteers served and explained the spirit of Karma Kitchen to the guests, there was surprise, interest, gratitude, and even some thoughts/experiences of kindness and generosity shared amongst guests and between guests and servers… After enjoying their meals when the guests got a $0.00 check, they gave feedback about their experience with their share of pay-it-forward contributions and ideas. Many were so happy and even said they were inspired and hoped to spread the goodness through their acts of generosity as well.

Here are some notes from what guests shared after their experience:

  • This was our first time here and our experience went very well. The people were nice and the atmosphere was welcoming. I would recommend this place to ours and the concept is amazing, we need more things like this. I will pay it forward by contributions and volunteering.
  • Thank you for an immensely enjoyable meal. I will remember this experience for a long long time – and I’ve definitely been inspired to do something generous and “pay it forward”. One suggestion – I’m sure some of your local customers would love to be provided with a list of local charities, or some place to volunteer, or help out in some way. Thanx!
  • I am so glad that we stumbled pass Karma Kitchen! One suggestion for helping spread the word is to contact Compassion Over Killing and get listed at VegDC.com ! Looking forward to paying it forward…
  • This was very fun, and enlightening! Thank you for your time and effort to put together KARMA Kitchen! Best wishes. πŸ™‚
  • It’s so nice to see you all putting smiles on the customers’ faces!
  • Thanks karma kitchen! Everything was fantastic : )
  • This is my first time here . Thank you so much for starting this great idea! I love it and am very excited to let all my friends know about the karma kitchen. The food was amazing and the volunteers were great. I look forward to coming back.
  • Thanks so much! This was my 2nd time here and I really enjoyed the food+atmosphere! The volunteers were great & this is such a wonderful idea! Good luck and I hope this experiment continues! πŸ™‚
  • I think Karma Kitchen is a fantastic idea! It’s the first time I’ve heard of it, and I plan to participate in the future.
  • I really Enjoyed my Experience here. The Service was Very kind, thoughtfull & WARM. I Wish This Activity To Continue For A Very Long Time. I will Be Sure To Come Every Sunday & Share The Kindness & Warmth Of The People here. Thanks A LOT πŸ™‚
  • Thank you all so much: The food was delicious! This was the perfect way for me to try Indian food for the first time. I hope to come back when I am in DC again and volunteer, so keep up the good work! Thanks again for making everyone’s day a little brighter! β™₯
  • The food was excellent, all the dishes had its unique touch of spices, taste and flavour. Thank You.
  • Food was good. Look forward to being back next week!
  • Delicious meal, very beautiful idea. I would love to volunteer for future meals. Please contact me at your earliest convenience. Thank you!
One Response to “Recap: Karma Kitchen Mar 01”

  1. Doug said

    Kudos to all ! For making such a warm day in that cold day. You guys are awesome!

Leave a Reply

 
